s

About

DOCK & PLAY: the best of neo retro gaming

Welcome to DOCK & PLAY, your premier destination for neo-retro gaming. Our online store is dedicated to celebrating video games in all their forms, with a particular emphasis on what we call "neo retro gaming".

We invite you to revisit the classics you love with modern comfort. By classic, we mean game, but also gaming machine: thus, neo retro gaming also applies to current gaming consoles and devices which allow you to rediscover gaming memories while taking advantage of today's technology.

We carefully select each item in our store, ensuring that it is innovative, pleasant to use and that it meets this neo-retro ideal which not only allows us to connect different eras of gaming, but also to link gaming to other creative disciplines. We are happy to be part of this community of players fully aware of the singularity of this hobby, with its limits, sometimes its faults, but also its fantastic possibilities.

It's time to remaster your memories... and write what's next!

PS: and for those who are wondering, the name of the store is a nod to the expression "Plug & Play" which appeared in the mid-90s, but also a reference to the concept of "dock", or dock. For example, we like the idea that the Switch can connect to a dock which offers it other possibilities such as connecting to a TV. The relationship with neo retro? You're right, we're looking for it too, because the store wasn't necessarily focused on neo retro at first. But this is another story :)

Celebrating gaming and its culture

Comfortably installed in your living room, you enjoy your deserved moments of relaxation to play, but also watch, read, listen, exhibit, share and celebrate video games in all its facets. There are a thousand and one ways to enjoy gaming and its culture.

Gaming is now infusing all areas of entertainment. Its aesthetics, its atmosphere, the sensations it provides, the worlds it creates, the stories it tells, touch us and mark us. Its symbols, its icons and its legends never cease to amuse us, surprise us and mark our imagination.

In more than 40 years of history, video games have become a major cultural practice which has built a common heritage recognized, celebrated and appreciated by all generations.

Neo retro gaming remasters your memories

Neo-retro gaming allows you to revisit your memory of video games in a new way: more anchored in the present, more accessible, more convenient, more pleasant, more fluid, more user-friendly. A bit like an old game that benefits from a remastered version: you can play it again, in a new setting, and with greater comfort.

Neo-retro diverges from retrogaming, which consists of playing and manipulating vintage devices and games, carefully preserved for years or acquired second hand. But pure and simple retrogaming is becoming inaccessible to enthusiasts, due to the wear and tear of the machines and games, the difficulty of finding them, and the need to equip themselves expensively.

Neo-retro inspires creators who offer a new way of looking at the gaming of yesteryear. Thanks to a new generation of innovative devices that draw on playful heritage to offer a design and an experience that touches our hearts, we can finally rediscover forgotten sensations while enjoying modern comfort.

DOCK & PLAY takes this path to celebrate this culture which is part of each of us, by offering a selection of game consoles, connected devices, creations and initiatives designed in a neo-retro spirit.

An inexhaustible source of inspiration

Our first interactions with a controller date back to Nintendo's NES, one fine day in 1987. Suffice it to say that we literally grew up with this incredibly creative media: once we fall into it, we grow up with the magic potion within us and we never cease to be fascinated by this unique environment.

We previously had the chance to cover this industry as a journalist for different media, magazines and websites, general or specialized. A period rich in enriching encounters to learn about the very closed behind the scenes of video games.

And certainly the cause of our tendency to write very long and very complicated sentences. We'll try to improve, promise :)

This proximity to creators as well as players allows us to approach DOCK & PLAY in an original way, both as an extension of these editorial experiences, and as an online store highlighting innovative and representative articles. of a certain idea of ​​gaming culture.

Our audience is sensitive to the aesthetics of video games, their preservation, the emotions they provide, their transmission and their connection with other leisure activities. He is also fully aware of present and future technologies, favors comfort and serenity, appreciates beautiful objects, design and decoration.

We hope that your experience on DOCK & PLAY lives up to the consideration you have for video games, that is to say more than a simple leisure activity, even if it will not save the world, but which at least contributes to make it a little lighter. A universe which is not comparable to any other, which marks you for life, from which you can sometimes move away, by will or by necessity, but which you always find with the joy of the first days.

Be inspired by gaming.

Samy and the DOCK & PLAY team

Your shopping cart is empty.

Why not try one of these products ?

Continue shopping

s

À propos

DOCK & PLAY : le meilleur du néo rétro gaming

Bienvenue chez DOCK & PLAY, votre destination privilégiée pour le néo-rétro gaming. Notre boutique en ligne est dédiée à la célébration du jeu vidéo sous toutes ses formes, avec un accent particulier sur ce que l'on qualifie de "néo rétro gaming".

Nous vous proposons de revisiter les classiques que vous aimez avec le confort moderne. Par classique, on entend jeu, mais aussi machine de jeu : ainsi, le néo rétro gaming s'applique aussi aux consoles et appareils de jeu actuels qui permettent de retrouver des souvenirs gaming tout en profitant de la technologie d'aujourd'hui.

Nous sélectionnons soigneusement chaque article dans notre boutique, en veillant à ce qu’il soit innovant, agréable à utiliser et qu’il réponde à cet idéal néo-rétro qui permet non seulement de connecter entre elles différentes époques du gaming, mais aussi de lier le gaming à d'autres discipline créatives. Nous sommes heureux de faire partie de cette communauté de joueur.euses pleinement conscients de la singularité de ce loisir, avec ses limites, parfois ses défauts, mais aussi ses fantastiques possibilités.

C'est le moment de remasteriser vos souvenirs... et d'écrire la suite !

PS : et pour ceux qui se poserait la question, le nom de la boutique est un clin d'oeil à l'expression "Plug & Play" apparue au milieu des années 90, mais aussi une référence au concept de "dock", ou station d'accueil. On aime par exemple l'idée que la Switch puisse se connecter à un dock qui lui offre d'autres possibilités comme se brancher sur une TV. Le rapport avec le néo rétro ? Vous avez raison, on le cherche nous aussi, car la boutique n'était pas forcèment axée sur néo rétro au départ. Mais c'est une autre histoire :)

Célébrer le gaming et sa culture

Confortablement installé(e) dans votre salon, vous appréciez vos moments de détente mérités pour jouer, mais aussi regarder, lire, écouter, exposer, partager et célèbrer le jeu vidéo dans toutes ses facettes. Il y a mille et une façon de profiter du gaming et de sa culture. 

Le gaming infuse désormais dans tous les domaines du divertissement. Son ésthétique, son ambiance, les sensations qu'il procure, les univers qu'ils crée, les histoires qu'il raconte, nous touchent et nous marquent. Ses symbôles, ses icônes et ses légendes, ne cessent de nous amuser, nous surprendre et marquer notre imaginaire.

En plus de 40 ans d'histoire, le jeu vidéo est une devenu une pratique culturelle majeure qui a construit un patrimoine commun reconnu, célébré et apprécié par toutes les générations. 

Le néo rétro gaming remasterise vos souvenirs

Le gaming néo-rétro permet de revisiter sa mémoire du jeu vidéo d'une nouvelle façon : plus ancrée dans le présent, plus accessible, plus commode, plus agréable, plus fluide, plus convivial. Un peu comme un ancien jeu qui bénéficie d'une version remasterisée : vous pouvez y jouer à nouveau, dans un nouvel écrin, et avec un confort supérieur.

Le neo-rétro diverge du rétrogaming, qui consiste à jouer et manipuler des appareils et jeux d'époque, précieusement conservés depuis des années ou acquis en seconde main. Or le retrogaming pur et dur devient innaccessible aux passionés, en raison de l'usure des machines et des jeux, de la difficulté à les trouver, et de la nécessité de s'équiper de manière onéreuse.

Le néo-rétro inspire des créateurs qui proposent une nouvelle manière de considérer le gaming d'antan. Grâce à une nouvelle génération d'appareils innovants qui puisent dans le patrimoine ludique pour proposer un design et une expérience qui nous touchent au coeur, nous pouvons enfin retrouver des sensations oubliées tout en profitant du confort moderne.

DOCK & PLAY épouse cette voie pour célèbrer cette culture qui fait partie de chacun.e de nous, en proposant une sélection de consoles de jeu, d'appareils connectés, de créations et d'initiatives conçus dans un esprit néo-rétro. 

Une source inépuisable d'inspiration

Nos premières interactions avec une manette remontent à la NES de Nintendo, un beau jour de 1987. Autant dire que nous avons littéralement grandi avec ce média d'une créativité inouïe : une fois tombé dans la marmite, on grandit avec la potion magique en nous et on ne cesse d'être fasciné par ce milieu singulier.

Nous avons précédemment eu la chance de pouvoir couvrir cette industrie en tant que journaliste pour différents médias, magazines et sites internet, généralistes ou spécialisés. Une période riche en rencontres enrichissantes pour connaître les coulisses très fermées du jeu vidéo.

Et certainement la cause de notre tendance à écrire des phrases très longues et très compliquées. On essaie de s'améliorer, promis :)

Cette proximité avec les créateurs autant qu'avec les joueurs nous permet d'aborder DOCK & PLAY d'une manière originale, à la fois comme un prolongement de ces expériences éditoriales, et comme une boutique en ligne mettant en lumière des articles innovants et représentatifs d'une certaine idée de la culture gaming.

Notre public est sensible à l'ésthétique du jeu vidéo, à sa préservation, aux émotions qu'il procure, à sa transmission et à sa connexion avec d'autres loisirs. Il est aussi pleinement au faite des technologies présentes et futures, privilégie le confort et la sérénité, apprécie les beaux objets, le design, la décoration.

Nous souhaitons que votre expérience sur DOCK & PLAY soit à la hauteur de la considération que vous portez au jeu vidéo, c'est à dire plus qu'un simple loisir, même s'il ne sauvera pas le monde, mais qui contribue au moins à le rendre un peu plus léger. Un univers qui n'est comparable à aucun autre, qui vous marque à vie, dont on peut s'éloigner parfois, par volonté ou par nécessité, mais que l'on retrouve toujours avec la joie des premiers jours. 

Soyez inspiré.e par le gaming.

Samy et l'équipe DOCK & PLAY

Votre panier est vide.

Pourquoi ne pas essayer un de ces produits ?

Continuer mon shopping